Neuroendocrinology Letters, Home
Neuroendocrinology Letters Vol. 21 No. 3 Contents
Contact us
Subscription info
Neuroendocrinology Letters incl. Psychoneuroimmunology & Chronobiology

Neuroendocrinology Letters incl. Psychoneuroimmunology & Chronobiology, Research -- Chronobiology
ISSN 0172–780X Copyright © 2000 Neuroendocrinology Letters

NEL VOL. 21 No. 3

Download pdf (1798kb)

2000; 21:233–258

Cross-spectrally coherent ~10.5- and 21-year biological and physical cycles, magnetic storms and myocardial infarctions
by Franz Halberg, Germaine Cornélissen, Kuniaki Otsuka, Yoshihiko Watanabe, George S. Katinas, Naoto Burioka, Anatoly Delyukov, Yuri Gorgo, Ziyan Zhao, Andi Weydahl, Robert B. Sothern, Jarmila Siegelová, Bohumil Fišer, Jiri Dušek, Elena V. Syutkina, Federico Perfetto, Roberto Tarquini, R.B. Singh, Brad Rhees, Dennis Lofstrom, Paula Lofstrom, Paul William Cort Johnson, Othild Schwartzkopff, & the International BIOCOS Study Group**

aa, biological cycles, Bz, chronomes, Dst, heart rate variability, infradian, Kp, magnetic storms, myocardial infarctions

Magnetic storms trigger myocardial infarctions with mechanisms relating to heart rate variability. Solar cycle-to-solar cycle differences and solar cycle stage dependence shown herein may resolve prior controversy and serve to advocate coordinated worldwide systematically aligned biological and physical monitoring.

* This paper was originally invited by the historian-geophysicist Wilfried SCHRöDER of Bremen, Germany, for his biographical “Encounters,” and is to serve as an update on the project on the BIOsphere and the Cosmos (BIOCOS) and its offspring ICEHRV (Dr. Kuniaki Otsuka’s International Chronome Ecologic Study of Heart Rate Variability). It is intended for distribution at a NATO conference on space weather hazards, organized by Dr. Ioannis Daglis, June 18–29, 2000.

** For the BIOCOS Group:
Austria: Manfred Herold, University of Innsbruck.
Belgium: Christian Muller, Aerospace Institute.
Bulgaria: Nadejda Madjirova, Department of Psychiatry, Medical University, Plovdiv.
China: Ziyan Zhao, Shandong Academy of Medical Sciences, Jinan; Zhengrong Wang, West China University of Medical Sciences, Chengdu.
Czech Republic: Jarmila Siegelova, Bohumil Fiser and Jiri Dusek, Masaryk University, Brno.
France: Gerard Milano, Centre Antoine-Lacassagne, Nice.
Germany: Lübbo von Lindern, Sigrid Berger, Max-Planck-Institut für Zellbiologie, Ladenburg.
India: R.B. Singh, Medical Hospital and Research Centre, Moradabad; R.K. Singh, King George’s Medical College, Lucknow.
Italy: Franca Carandente, Department of Chronobiology, and Cristina Maggioni, Department of Obstetrics, University of Milan; Federico Perfetto and Roberto Tarquini, Department of Medicine, University of Florence; Andrea Galvagno, Maurizio Montalbini, Pioneer Researches, Ancona.
Japan: Kuniaki Otsuka, Yoshihiko Watanabe, Department of Medicine, Tokyo Women’s Medical College, Tokyo; Keiko Uezono, Institute of Health Sciences, Kyushu University, Fukuoka; Yuji Kumagai, Jichi Medical School, Tochigi; Naoto Burioka, Tottori University, Yonago.
Mexico: Salvador Sánchez de la Peña, Instituto Mexicano del Seguro Social, Mexico City.
Norway: Andi Weydahl, Finnmark College, Alta.
Romania: Ion Baciu, Professor and Head of Physiology, and Teodor Maghiar, Rector, Oradea University, Oradea.
Russia: Elena V. Syutkina, Institute of Pediatrics, Academy of Medical Sciences, Moscow; Anatoly Masalov, Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow; Rina M. Zaslavskaya, Hospital #60, Moscow; Mikhail Blank, N.N. Petrov Oncology Research Institute, Ministry of Health, St. Petersburg; Tamara K. Breus, Space Research Institute, Moscow; Gennady and Denis Gubin, Tyumen.
Slovakia: Miroslav Mikulecky Sr. and Miroslav Mikulecky Jr., Comenius University, Bratislava; Alexander Kreze, Lubochna.
Spain: Miguel Revilla, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Valladolid; Leopoldo Garcia Alonso, Hospital Materno-Infantil ‘Teresa Herrera,’ La Coruña.
Switzerland: Waldemar Ulmer, Varian International, Zug.
Ukraine: Anatoly Delyukov, Institute of Physics, National Academy of Sciences, Kiev; Yuri Gorgo, Department of Human and Animal Physiology, Taras Shevchenko Kiev National University, Kiev.
United Kingdom: Hugh Simpson, Department of Surgery, University of Glasgow, Scotland; Douglas Wilson, ADAS, Cardiff, Wales.
USA: Earl Bakken, North Hawaii Community Hospital, Kamuela, Hawaii; Patrick Delmore, Medtronic Inc., Shoreview, Minnesota; Francine Halberg, Marin General Hospital, San Rafael, California; Katarina Borer, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan; Daniel Kaplan, Macalester College, St. Paul, Minnesota; Jim Holte, Department of Electrical Engineering; David Benditt and Keith Lurie, Department of Cardiology; Julia Halberg, Department of Epidemiology; and the authors, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.